Can hex be converted?

KrashKaloop

Joined Aug 26, 2008
I am completely new to programming PICs and need some advice.

I have a device that uses a PIC16F876A, and I am trying to do some modifications to the code which was written in PICBasic Pro. This is an open source project, so I have both the hex and Basic code that the device currently runs on.

I also have downloaded MPLAB and have been familiarizing myself with it. I have also purchased a PIC programmer which I hope will suit my needs. This is the programmer I bought from futurlec. http://www.futurlec.com/PIC_Programmer.shtml

Although I know if I purchased PICBasic Pro, I could use it to modify the existing code, I was wondering if I could just use the MPLABS to do the same thing. Is it possible to convert the hex code (produced in PICBasic pro), and convert it into one of the languages supported in MPLAB?

Or is there a way to use MPLAB to program in the same language as PICBasic Pro? I just don’t want to spend the money for PICBasic Pro to modify a single PIC for use in a hobby project.

I hope I explained this sufficiently. Thanks

kammenos

Joined Aug 3, 2008
Is it possible to convert the hex code (produced in PICBasic pro), and convert it into one of the languages supported in MPLAB?

Or is there a way to use MPLAB to program in the same language as PICBasic Pro? I just don’t want to spend the money for PICBasic Pro to modify a single PIC for use in a hobby project.

What exactly do you mean? Can you give an example?:confused::confused::confused:

RiJoRI

Joined Aug 15, 2007
A disassembler will convert from hex to assembly. To go from assembly to BASIC, Pascal, C, or any other language is for all intents and purposes impossible. The problem is that given a set of assembly instructions, how does a program figure out what the HLL should be?
Rich (BB code):
	DECSZ	_bpnt.W
	JP	.+0x1
	LD	X,_bpnt.W
	LD	A,_parttn.B
	ST	A,[X].B