Calculating Power Consumption

kfchoong

Joined Mar 16, 2008
Hi,
While building a kit using PIC16F876A, I realized that the power consumption is very high. A new 9V battery will last about 24 hours. Knowing that the power consumption is dependent on the circuit components and design, I have attached the schematic diagram in PDF.

Could anyone please tell me how I can calculate the power consumption?

Thanks,
kfchoong

Attachments

AlexR

Joined Jan 16, 2008
I think you will find that most of the power is taken by LCD backlight.
If you run the cct off a battery turn off the backlight.
Also having the power LED on all the time does not help matters. To get maximum life out of your battery pull that out as well.

kfchoong

Joined Mar 16, 2008
Thanks for the reply. During one of my test, I removed no only the LCD's backlight, but the entire LCD. Even after doing so, the power consumption is still very high. It probably only added a few more hours to the battery life.

I'm new to circuit, not sure if the variable resistor used to control the LCD brightness is causing the problem. Depending on the resistance set, doesn't it cause some sort of short circuit?

S_lannan

Joined Jun 20, 2007
ok.
here's my rule number one of batteries.

9V VOLTS BATTERIES ARE CRAP.

do not ever use them. period.
using a step up converter with a set of 2xaa cells would be waay better.

a single led will use more power than a lcd display.

as far as having any longevity out of a 9v battery don't expect nothing.
They are landfill demons, they have no capacity and are expensive.
I cannot stress this enough.

kfchoong

Joined Mar 16, 2008
Thanks for the advice, I will give it a try. But will changing the battery from 9v to AA makes such a big difference? Or is there something wrong fundamentally that causes the battery to only last a day?

Is there a way in which I can measure the mA consume by the circuit?

Thanks again

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005