Calculate capacitive impedance

rts

Joined Jan 31, 2014
Hi, I'm a very mature student and doing an course in Electrical engineering with no previous knowledge. I have a question which asks me to calculate the capacitive impedance in an a-c series circuit. The capacitor value is 200 microfarads, the frequency is 50 Hz and the resistor value is 2 Mohms. I have used the formula for Xc and found the Capacitive reactance to be 15.92 ohms. I then used the following to find the Impedance; Z = Sqr(R2 + Xc2) The answer that I got was 2 Mohms. Is this the correct method? The course is a home study course so I don't have easy access to a tutor. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
A resistor does not have capacitive impedance. I think you got the answer and kept going off the end of the page.

and, yes, the difference is so small that a lot of calculators will not display it.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
There is some ambiguity in the way you presented the problem.

You used words like capacitive and impedance. This lead me to believe that you are trying to find impedance of the capacitor. If that is the case, then I believe the correct answer is -15.91j Ohm in complex notation. If you want angle notation, then you have 15.91 Ohm at -90°.

For reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor#AC_circuits

rts

Joined Jan 31, 2014
Hi. Thanks for the prompt response. I quoted the question exactly as it was asked. Should I contact the tutor and ask for some clarification? I'm finding the course quite difficult but would like to keep going. I could well become a nuisance on this forum, asking what may seem like simple questions. Thank you in anticipation.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010