C vs. asm question for a project

rockrockmcrock

Joined Jan 6, 2012
Guys - do you have any advice on the best way forward, should I use c or asm?

Basically I'm a beginner with real-time / microcontrollers, but have loads of HL programming experience and some asm for x86 (and BBC Micros from back in the day!).

I figure the best way to learn is to mess about with someone else's project code. The code is well commented mpasm and will need to be ported from Pic 16F to 18F either now (big ask for a newbie like me?) or later to give me the memory space / libraries.

So from what I know of x86 asm, I'm tempted to learn C and port the mpasm to that - readability, debug time and portability are things I usually value in HL code. There are IRQ's in the mpasm code and I know C used to struggle to implement these way back, but I presume things have changed. Hence I'm tempted to go with porting to C, before porting to the 18F.

I've read loads of stuff on the web about C vs. asm, but am still none the clearer - some say C some say asm! I don't want to start another C/asm war - but what's the recommendation from someone with experience? I should pick up both languages fairly fast and will need to learn both anyway at some point.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
I've read loads of stuff on the web about C vs. asm, but am still none the clearer - some say C some say asm! I don't want to start another C/asm war - but what's the recommendation from someone with experience? I should pick up both languages fairly fast and will need to learn both anyway at some point.
Yeah asking to use either C or asm will start a war. I know both, far prefer C for the infinite increase in productivity for large projects... though I do occasionally have the small project where only hand optimized asm can run fast enough.