c code for pic16f877a

shicibukai

Joined Feb 21, 2013
i have a project to design a automatic switching capacitor for power factor correction system.. the pic will eventually detect an input from current transducer. the current transducer will detect current value n convert to number(0-255) i think... if value is from 0-100... o/p A will trigger... if value from 101-150, o/p B will trigger and if value from 150-255, o/p C will trigger.. A,B,C is refer to different output from the pic16f877a. these 3 output then will be connected to capacitor.. the problem is, i don't know how to assign those output to specific input current value. im a newbie here and im just starting to study the microC. can anyone help me with the C code? thanks..

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
You should start by getting the cart behind the horse.

You should not start to automate a process you do not yet understand. Power factor involves the phase delay between the voltage and the current, not the absolute value of either. That is a time measurement, not voltage.

Once you understand THAT a good thing to do is to breadboard your solution with mechanical switches and caps to see if you truly do have a fix.

Also understand that your algorithm should be advancing to caps, since once a particular cap is in circuit a factor change means you need switch to the next cap, not any particular cap.

THEN... learn the language to program the controller. C is a good choice and is freely available.

Finally... you can start on some hardware and software planning.

shicibukai

Joined Feb 21, 2013
ok i understand that.. i would like to know is the input of pic is digital number between 0-255? which mean i can separate the number to trigger several output port? just like i explain before.

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
You would need to evaluate the input and take action accordingly.