C,C++ and C#?

Zorthgo

Joined Oct 22, 2008
Biggest difference between C and C++ is that C is a Structured Programming language and C++ is an Object Oriented Programming language.

Microsoft has defined C# as follows:

"C# is a simple, modern, object oriented, and type-safe programming language derived from C and C++. C# (pronounced 'C sharp') is firmly planted in the C and C++ family tree of languages, and will immediately be familiar to C and C++ programmers. C# aims to combine the high productivity of Visual Basic and the raw power of C++."

Basically C# was developed to work with the .NET platform.

You can find out more information here: http://www.itgatewaysolutions.com/articles/CPlusAndCSharp.htm

Last edited:

Sonoma_Dog

Joined Jul 24, 2008
Great. Thanks !
I have heard these two words a lot "object Oriented". What is it mean?
is it mean it can handle GUI?

I am a Electrical engineering student, have very less experience with programming, I have only done some micro controller programming in C.

Thanks again. I will read up some of those links when i got time.

Mark44

Joined Nov 26, 2007
Great. Thanks !
I have heard these two words a lot "object Oriented". What is it mean?
is it mean it can handle GUI?

I am a Electrical engineering student, have very less experience with programming, I have only done some micro controller programming in C.

Thanks again. I will read up some of those links when i got time.
"Object oriented" doesn't have anything to do with GUI. C is a procedural language, which means a programmer writes functions to do whatever is supposed to get done in an application. An object-oriented language such as C++, Java, C#, Eiffel, or SmallTalk, on the other hand, defines a collection of objects, each with its own methods (things it can do) and properties (things that describe it).