Buying AVR Microcontroller, Opinion Needed

Tim Saunders

Joined Apr 28, 2009
Hello, My name is Tim Saunders.
I am looking to buy a microcontroller. I have done some research and it seems to me that Atmel's AVR microcontrollers are many people's choice (let's not start a war between AVR and PIC). I have never used a microcontroller before, but I have built a few discreet component devices like a DAC and a servo controller and things like that, so I want something with quite a bit of functionality to work with. I understand how microcontrollers work and would like to use one to control some robotics.
I'm looking at Atmel AVR, but I'm open to suggestions.

Here's what i'm looking for:

Budget -- $450 upper limit.
Mode -- 8 bit or more. I would prefer more, but cost is more important.
In/Out -- Analog. Digital. Pulse Width. (A few of each, I'd probably
want 4 servos and multiple sensors connected up at once. It's for
robotics)
Memory -- Reprogrammable, and enough RAM to compute movements
P Language -- I prefer C++, but I can always learn a new one.

Any suggestions would be much very appreciated. Thanks for reading this.

Note: I'm from Canada (eh, laugh it up). A close supplier would be nice but not necessary.

John Luciani

Joined Apr 3, 2007
The popular Atmel uCs like the '168/328 and the ATmega1280 have all of
the resources you listed except the analog outputs. You would have to add your
own DAC. I would use either an I2C or SPI DAC. If you get a board
that supports the Arduino bootloader you could use the Arduino tools for a quick
start (C and C++). After you get familiar with the uC you could use C or C++
with the free compiler (Linux, MAC or PC).

I make a kit that integrates an ATmega168 with a Zigbee radio (XBee). I burn
the Arduino bootloader on the '168. A datasheet with schematics is at http://tinyurl.com/djg9q3
In the application hints section of the website are a few software examples
that were created using the Arduino tools and library.

(* jcl *)