Building Millisecond Timer

bilbo_braggins

Joined Feb 16, 2011
I have a project which requires me to determine the amount of time it takes for a relay to close after having pushed a button on a keyboard. I'd like to use the keyboards momentary switch to start the timing, and and use the voltage from the relay to stop the timing. Am I crazy for considering rewiring a stopwatch like this (timing down to the millisecond is needed)? I am a software engineer with almost no electrical engineering experience, but hopefully with forums help I can pick up a little as I delve into this project.:)

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
There is a great deal to the task.

First, if you are using a PC, you need to decode the key.

Then there is the OS delay in interpreting the keystroke, then sending the data to the serial or USB external relay board, at which point you'd have to time the contact closure time.

This may be in the 1mS or less range (even through the OS).

If you are trying to measure switch time of a relay with a button, battery, and relay, you only need a handful of ICs. The button would start a timer (32.768kHz crystal counter), and the contacts of the relay closing would stop the timer (counter). Then a display system added on and you have what you want.

To sum: I'm unsure if you want to measure time from a PC keyboard to a Relay on a port, or the speed of a relay on it's own.

bilbo_braggins

Joined Feb 16, 2011
There is a great deal to the task.

First, if you are using a PC, you need to decode the key.

Then there is the OS delay in interpreting the keystroke, then sending the data to the serial or USB external relay board, at which point you'd have to time the contact closure time.

This may be in the 1mS or less range (even through the OS).