Building An Ignition System

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobDean

Joined Feb 3, 2012
Hello everyone,

This is my first visit to your forums and it looks very knowledgable and helpful, judging from the few posts I've read when searching for previous posts that might be useful to my projects.

By way of introducing myself, let me say that I have no real practicle experience in designing and building microcontroller projects. But I have taken a couple of personal interest courses at the local community colleges in general electrical theory, electronic and semiconductor devices, and various levels of computer programming. These were some time ago, late '90's, and have been pretty much neglected since then.

I actually did put in some time in one of those classes learning a bit about microprocessors on a Heathkit trainer that used the 80C85. It had a small LCD screen so you could see what you were doing and a Watchdog program to keep you from doing any really bad things to the thing, I guess.

I was introduced to the CPU instruction set then so that is not completely voodoo to me. I have programmed a bit in a couple of Basic dialects and also Windows.net. (still got the discs around here somewhere). I know nothing of C, Fortran, Cobol, or any of the other languages.

So I am not a Wiz and probably never will become one. I took these classes out of curiosity and a desire to at least get a basic understanding of how computers, controllers and industrial control devices actually functioned. I probably know just enough to get myself into serious trouble if I ever tried to do any of this stuff professionally.