building an external zoom motor for lens

regaljohnston

Joined Jan 27, 2013
hi,

this it's my first project, and a good starting point for the pursuing animatronics, which i am very much interested in for video.

all you really need to know is that i am trying to:

-make a motor rotate between a range of low speeds, clockwise and anti-clockwise based on the signal from a potentiometer, or some other controller.

this is to control the zoom ring on my camcorder's lens.

it needs to:

-be as quiet as possible (for obvious recording reasons).
-have a variety of speeds.
-ease in and out of zoom smoothly/seamlessly.
-have a control which is operable by my thumb alone (can adapt a potentiometer into a left/right thumb-stick or a seasaw peddle to fit this criteria).

i am new to all this so please bare with me, i am trying my hardest but would greatly appreciate any advice/guidance.

this is as far as i have progressed-

http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/5392/basiclayout.jpg

-the battery supplies a constant current which is received by the variable resistor (potentiometer).

-the variable resistor allows a controlled amount of current to pass through it.

-the current is then passed onto the arduino, which allows me to reverse the polarity of the current (at the flick of a switch?).

-then the motor receives a controlled level of current at a controlled polarity.

---

so, the potentiometer controls the current (the speed at which the motor will turn) and the arduino H-bridge controls the direction... don't even know if that's how all these parts work, but i'm trying my hardest to learn, so if i am wildly off course then please let me know.

let me know what your approach would be.

thanks!

regal johnston...

Last edited:

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
You may want to take a look at small stepper motors. Small DC Motors run at a very high RPM, unless geared down, which makes a good deal more noise than a stepper does.