Building a mobile broadband based IP camera

jchal3

Joined Dec 13, 2009
Hello all,

I am just starting out with this project. I have attached the data sheet for the camera I am planning on using. I am going to need to power the camera, and an air card from a battery pack. The camera runs at 5vdc 1.2 amp, and the air card will run on on 5vdc at 6 amps (currently usb). My question is, how many and what size batteries do I need. I would like the unit to run for a minimum of 30 days. I have looked around on the internet to come up with a calculation for this, and don't have any confidence in my results. This forum has really helped me out in the past, so I thought I would throw this to the experts on here.

Eventually I would like to power this unit using a solar panel. Once again, the question would be what size?

Thanks,

Attachments

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008
The current you've mentioned seems very high. For the camera at least, I think you've misread the specs, though the data sheet certainly isn't clear. It says:

+ Input: 100-249 V AC, 50/60Hz
+ Output: 5 V DC, 1.2A
+ External AC-to-DC switching power adapter
+ 2W Max Power Consumption

I think the power adapter is capable of providing 5V/1.2A, which would be 6W, but the camera actually draws just 2W max, or .4A. It still seems like a lot for a small device, but that's what they say. The aircard I don't know about, but you'd never get 6A from USB, so I wonder what the numbers really are there.

This is seeming like a very large amount of power to get from a battery, if you want a month's operation. Could the unit be powered intermittently, and switch itself on at intervals to make a transmission? That might make it possible.

jchal3

Joined Dec 13, 2009
I read on Wikipedia that a USB port is basically 5vdv at a max of 6 amps depending on the device. I have not purchased the card yet, so I don't know the exact draw of the card. I was figuring worst case.