building a 555 hysteretic oscillator

hillshaveeyes57

Joined Sep 12, 2012
the schematics are right, but i'm not getting anything! yeah, this is my first project and i messed up a lot of times but the last few, i've gained a little more insight as to how it works and i'm still not getting my leds to flash OR even light up. i was thinking maybe i either wore out the protoboard (i used oversized hookup wire the first few times then downgraded to something smaller that fit into the slots better) or that my components are incorrect, or i fried something, even though i replaced the capacitor, pentometer, and 555 twice.

i'll try to post some pics of the project later.

help_mum

Joined Sep 13, 2012
the schematics are right, but i'm not getting anything! yeah, this is my first project and i messed up a lot of times but the last few, i've gained a little more insight as to how it works and i'm still not getting my leds to flash OR even light up. i was thinking maybe i either wore out the protoboard (i used oversized hookup wire the first few times then downgraded to something smaller that fit into the slots better) or that my components are incorrect, or i fried something, even though i replaced the capacitor, pentometer, and 555 twice.

i'll try to post some pics of the project later.
Why don't you get LTSPICE or one of the others and run your circuit on it then move to the Bread Board, Hase saved me hours of work and cost of parts.

H_M
Beginner

hillshaveeyes57

Joined Sep 12, 2012
it fell out right before i took the pics and i just accidentally left it out.

the breadboard was kind of loose because the first hookup wire i used was a higher guage...almost too big for the slots.

think i should return the breadboard cause it might be FUBAR?

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
it fell out right before i took the pics and i just accidentally left it out.

the breadboard was kind of loose because the first hookup wire i used was a higher guage...almost too big for the slots.