Building 2 digit up/down counter LED display

izon

Joined Mar 17, 2013
Hi.. newbie here so pardon the ignorance.
I'm looking to build a 2 digit up/down counter that has a rather large LED display. This is to be used in an office setting so staff can see by the displayed number how many are waiting to be seen. The receptionist would push the up button as more clients arrive and the down button as the number decreases. Also a reset would be handy. There is no need for audio tones to signal changes. The 2 display digits should be 12-15 inches tall and preferrably green in color.
I have seen a commerciallly available product that is very close but has some additional features that are unnecessary and would add to cost.
Here is a link to the one I found so you have a better feel for what I am needing.

http://www.cosyclocks.com/2digitud4i.htm

Here is link to a site I found that has pretty much everything for circuitry but I would need the large display and the way to integrate them into this circuitry.

http://www.talkingelectronics.com/projects/2DigitUpDwnCounter/2DigitUpDwnCounter-1.html

Thanks for any help / advice. As usual, we would like to keep the cost at minimum... and on the display, it would be great to have an enclosure method like the finished product link shows so that it could be hung from the ceiling or mounted to a post.

Thanks again!

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
A 40110 is an up/down counter with a 7-segment display decoder output so you could use two in cascade to do what you want. You may need to add a transistor driver on each of the segment outputs if your large LED display require more current than the 40110 can provide.

Edit: As far as the display, a Google search for large LED displays should help you find something appropriate.

elec_mech

Joined Nov 12, 2008
Welcome to AAC.

This sounds a lot like a circuit request I did for a Nuts & Volts reader a couple of years ago.