Broken diode in my guitar amp?

tmac

Joined Oct 28, 2008
Hi! I have a malfunctioning tube guitar amplifier, and I think I have found a broken diode. I have little experience with practical electronics, so I was hoping to get som answers here.

First question: would you agree that this is a damaged diode?:

I did try the diode-measuring setting on my multimeter without disconnecting the diode from the board, and got a fluctuating result 10-100 both ways.

Secondly, I have tried to read off the text on the diode (there are three lines of text on it), but may be missing a letter/number in the second line:

1N
5380B

(The last visible letter in the second row could also be an E)

Does anyone know for sure if I am missing a letter/number in the second row of the description? Will I need to get an identical diode, or would other types also work as a drop-in replacement? (I haven't found this exact one when browsing the net)

I would really appreciate any useful information.

Best regards,
Torquil Sørensen
Norway

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
It's a zener diode, so diode checks will look funny. The rating is 120 volts with 5 watts dissipation. With power on, you should read 120 volts across it, with the polarity reversed (positive voltage on the cathode of the diode). The 1N5380B is the device descriptor

It's probably there to regulate your B+ on a couple of tubes. If you have a 100 Hz roar in the output, look for an open filter capacitor.

tmac

Joined Oct 28, 2008
Thanks guys, this was really helpful. I will read up a bit on the usage of zener diodes in the context of B+/tube amps before I try to get a replacement. I didn't see any broken capacitors, so I am hoping that just replacing this will make it work.

For the interested: this is a Mesa Boogie Express 5:25 amp which works fine in class A/B (30W) mode, but not in class A (5W) mode. Hopefully this diode is only related to the 5W mode and is the reason for it malfunctioning.