Breadboard & Circuit Help?

mynamesalex

Joined Oct 4, 2012
Hey guys! First post on this forum. I have a feeling i'll be here quite a lot. I'm a computer engineering major and have a project I need some help on. Basically, I'm making an ECG as a design project. I was thrown into it with my group and we have no background knowledge on circuits/breadboard function. I have some general knowledge on circuit function but I'm not entirely sure how to translate that to a breadboard. I was given a schematic in which I have to find resistor values and calculate gain? I've been trying to teach myself how to do this but it hasn't been as easy a task as I hoped it would be. I will attach the circuit diagram which I must translate to the breadboard after finding resistor values as well as gain. I've partially managed to understand how to put the breadboard together to form a circuit but not the extent of what I need to do. I'm using a machine that outputs a signal to mimic a heartbeat instead of using electrodes attached to a human. Basically, the heartbeat should light a LED diode at the end of the circuit to mimic the heartbeat. I've managed to light the LED but not get it blinking with the beat. I've done a great deal of googling as to how circuit diagrams translate to breadboards but it hasn't helped me much with this. If anyone would be willing to help me out with this, it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks a lot.

Edit: Also attached is a jpg on equations to find the gain which I'm not sure about how to go about doing.

Attachments

Last edited:

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
The attached schematic shows a 'conventional' differential amplifier.
To recover ECG signals, you are going to need much higher CMMR or common mode rejection ratio than this circuit can provide- to get a usable output signal.

Google 'ECG circuits' and 'instrumentation amplifier circuits' for more information along these line.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009