Boolean Algebra - Simplification

D0wnl04d3r

Joined Dec 30, 2009
Hi guys...

I'm having real trouble simplifying the following equation, so that a minimal number of gates are used...
I'm very new to this, I have no previous knowledge of electronics and have just started a degree...I just cannot understand this concept at all!

here is the question...

Simplify the following function, such that a minimal number of gates are used:
(D.B'+A'C).(C+A')

Do I need to create a truth table or Karnaugh graph from this? is it possible to simplify without therse? I've tried browsing through the site but find it all very confusing!

thanks

Ratch

Joined Mar 20, 2007
D0wnl04d3r,

I'm very new to this, I have no previous knowledge of electronics and have just started a degree...I just cannot understand this concept at all!
A degree in what? How much was taught to you already? Is this part of a course you are taking? It find it worrisome that you are trying to simplify a Boolean expression, and you don't understand the concept.

here is the question...

Simplify the following function, such that a minimal number of gates are used:
(D.B'+A'C).(C+A')

Do I need to create a truth table or Karnaugh graph from this? is it possible to simplify without therse? I've tried browsing through the site but find it all very confusing!
Did you see the post from just three days ago? http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=32040 . What do you find confusing? We can answer specific questions, but we cannot start you from ground zero. You have to do some preliminary studying on your own.

Ratch

D0wnl04d3r

Joined Dec 30, 2009
it's a degree in IT but more than half of the course is electronics based. My lecturers so far have touched on Truth Tables & Karnaugh Graphs but there is no maths module as such within my course so the boolean algebra side I am finding very difficult...