Boolean algebra duality principle

xEnOnn

Joined Feb 2, 2011
My textbook says that the duality principle of the boolean algebra allows me to obtain a same expression in a different form. So for example, X.Y+Z' = (X'+Y').Z

But when I try to plot the truth table, the values of X.Y+Z' is opposite of (X'+Y').Z, which is if one of it is true, the other is false and vice versa. Since this is the case, they are not the same right? Then why are they still considered equal?

Heavydoody

Joined Jul 31, 2009
I am just now doing this at school, so I am no expert. Having said that, my understanding of duality is that for every axiom there is a "dual" axiom created by exchanging and's for or's, or's for and's, 1's for 0's, and 0's for 1's. These dual axioms do not equal each other. So, for example:

x+1=1 has the dual x0=0
(xy)'=x'+y' has the dual (x+y)'=x'y'

However, x+1≠x0 and (xy)'≠x'y'

narasimhan

Joined Dec 3, 2009
These dual axioms do not equal each other.
Absolutely correct.

Actually the dual of X.Y+Z' is (X+Y),Z'
Moreover (X'+Y').Z is the complement of X.Y+Z'

that is ((X'+Y').Z)'=X.Y+Z'
Now draw truth table and verify. And do reply if you get it right and understood the concept.

xEnOnn

Joined Feb 2, 2011
hmm.. so the dual axioms are not equal of each other. but I am still a little confused.

So I don't use duality when simplifying expressions since they are not equivalent of each other?

And when given a SOP and asked to convert to a POS, it is just the complement of SOP right? So POS = (SOP)' right?

Funny thing is when I have say X'.Z' + W'.Z as a SOP, and when I "NOT" it to get the POS, I have this: (X'.Z' + W'.Z)' = (X+Z).(W+Z'). But the answer is (X'+Z).(W'+Z')

From X'.Z' + W'.Z to (X'+Z).(W'+Z') looks like duality but isn't the POS and SOP complements of each other rather than dual?thanks.

narasimhan

Joined Dec 3, 2009
POS = (SOP)'
That's wrong