boiler vs furnaces ?

Mathematics!

Joined Jul 21, 2008
I am curious why one would uses a boiler over a furnaces?

Is there any benefit or case where you have to uses one over the other?

Seems to me boilers work on heating up water to create steam which then is used to heat.
Where as furnace to me is the more natural way of doing heating the air with fire to produces heat. Why waste water but I am probably missing something.

Or on a large scale it is some how better to uses one over the other?

joeyd999

Joined Jun 6, 2011
I am far from an expert on this but I would imagine that, with a latent heat of vaporization of 2,260 kJ/kg, steam can carry far more heat energy than air (specific heat = 1 kJ/kg/C). It's probably easier to plumb it around a building so as to provide distributed heating from a centralized source.

And, I would think that the water is not wasted, but reclaimed back into the boiler.

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
1. I am curious why one would uses a boiler over a furnaces?
The requirements for a boiler are different than for a furnace.

2. Is there any benefit or case where you have to uses one over the other?
Yes.

3. Or on a large scale it is some how better to uses one over the other?
Yes, it is better to use a boiler.

Mathematics!

Joined Jul 21, 2008
I see so then my next question is does most big buildings , or places use boilers over furnaces when it comes to non-residential places (like homes).

It seems like for efficiency they normally would but in most houses I just see furnaces.

Separate some what related questions I am confused about is

1) if a thermocouple in a furnace wasn't working properly i.e not producing electricity when heated then would this prevent the gas from flowing to the burner and ultimately preventing the whole furnace from working/coming on.

And if so is there a way to bypass the thermocouple by running a small current down it in some way?