Blood Pressure Monitor Help

mojo_risin

Joined Jul 3, 2013
Hello

I am glad that finally I get to post a thread here. Basically, I need a little clarification about some things related to my college project. It is PIC based blood pressure monitor, which will connect to Android phone via bluetooth and send SMS/email with the readings to a preset number/email address. I did a lot of research, but there are some things that I cannot fully understand. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

First, I am not sure how to inflate the arm cuff - what motor and valves should I use? Where do I get these from? (The only place I could find 5V DC air pump is a Chinese website selling tens of thousands from these.) I have never used any DC motors before, and I do not know much about air pumps either. This, along with the pressure sensor, is where I am stuck now. I have looked into other people's implementation, but still cannot explain this to myself - what type of pressure sensor do I need to use and how do I connect it? Does it have to be connected / attached to the hose inflating the cuff? And what is the difference between absolute, differential and gauge pressure sensors, which one should I use?

I am OK with all the other parts of the circuit (or at least I think I am at this stage) - amplification, processing, etc. I do not want to ask my teachers about this, because any questions lead to lower grade - 'cannot work independently, and so on'. I am very excited about the project, and want to do everything right.

So, that's a long post and I realize that I am asking for a lot here. If you have any information/links or whatever you think will help me with my project, I will be very grateful.

Thanks

Mark IV

Joined Oct 1, 2013
Absolute pressure sensor measures the pressure between the sensor and vacuum.

Gauge measures pressure between the sensor pressure and atmospheric pressure (100k Pa)

And differential sensor measures pressure between both sides of the sensor.