Beginner Struggling with 1st Project

trogre

Joined Jul 12, 2010
Hello to all.
Absolute beginner at electronics, so far I have purchased a multimeter & a solder station, as yet not used them. I was going to purchase a project but decided as a 1st project to test and hopefully fix the fault on garden solar light.
The problem is, it does not turn off during the day. On inspection of components it has a 1.2v battery, on/off switch, 4 small solar cells, LED, & a circuit board. It does not have a light sensor, at least not a separate one.
It is the circuit board that surprised me as it only has 2 components so I thought this will be an easy first project to test .1st component is a 220Ω resistor which I will have to take out & test but it is the 2nd component which is giving me problems as I have no idea what it is to test or buy a new one.
At the moment really only familiar with what a resistor looks like as I am still learning how to identify other components. I have looked on the web and as yet cannot identify what the 2nd component is. Most of what I have looked at has either 2 or 3 pins (legs?) and not 4 as picture.

Again, not as yet familiar with trying to upload a proper schematic so rather than upload a load of wiggly lines all I can say is all the other components are linked to this black 4 pin item.
Would appreciate if anyone can point me in the right direction and if so how would I go about testing this component. If the worse comes to the worse & I fail then I will rebuild the light by downloading a different schematic.
Thank you in advance

trogre

Joined Jul 12, 2010
Sorry forgot to say.The component has writing on the side,SS550 and I thought this must be some sort of identifying code.However when I took another light apart the same component has the code 0116 on it so that was no help,could be a batch number instead ?

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007