beginner needing help with 12v LED lights.

mattriser

Joined Mar 2, 2014
Hello all,

First off, I want to make it clear that I know NOTHING about electronics... I don't know what "watts" are, or what "AC/DC" means or "volts" or any of that stuff...so please, if you respond, dumb it down for me.

Basically I'm an artist that is trying to light up a relatively small project.

I just ordered some Led modules (designed and intended for channel sign letters) from ebay and I'm hoping that there is a way to light them up using a 9v or similar(small in size) battery.

So far, all I know is the lights I ordered are 12V....and if you look at the auction picture, the lights have "DC12V" printed on them.

I tried to get information from the seller, but I think there is a bit of a language barrier.

When I asked him how I can light them up he stated:

"you need

led module +power supply +dc connector female
( you need 5 watt power supply we do not have)

we 24 watt power supply"

When I asked him if I can use a battery he stated:

"can solder.
LEDs, works with 12 volts."

Can someone, in laymen's terms, tell me exactly what I need to light them up with a battery.

Thanks,
Matt

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Assuming that what you have are intended to operate from a 12V DC supply and pull 5W doing it, you would need a DC-DC converter to get your 12V from a 9V battery. If each module is designed for 5W, then each module will draw about 400mA from the output of the converter and, assuming a 90% conversion efficiency, about 600mA from the battery. At that discharge rate, you can expect a typical alkaline 9V battery to last about 30 minutes. You also would not want to try to power much more than one module from a single battery even if the short lifetime were acceptable.