Beginner Friendly List of PIC models?

Barnaby Walters

Joined Mar 2, 2011
Hi there

I am new to the forums. At age 16, just getting back into electronics after trying to do too much too soon with not enough understanding a few years earlier. One of the things I am having a go at is PIC development, something which completely stumped me 'back then' as I've been using Mac OS for years, which is pretty much devoid of PIC development tools!

Anyway, I think I've found my way around that. However, I have found that I am having to request free samples of randomly picked PICs - there are a vast amount, and the microchip website is rather unfriendly, if helpful. Is there, somewhere, a clean, friendly list of popular/useful PIC models, allowing easy comparison and filtering?

And if there is not, would it be useful to have one built? I am a fairly competent web developer — how about a community-driven, friendly, filtrable index of PIC models?

Thanks a lot, looking forward to learning from this forum (and perhaps even imparting what little knowledge I have :))

Barnaby

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
The big unknown is whether you know any programming languages. I didn't when I started with PIC's a few years ago, so I started with Assembly, rather then trying to learn a language like C and PIC's at the same time. There are lots of tutorials in Assembly too.

That said, for Assembly, I like the 12F5xx (e.g., 12F509) series for simplicity. The 12F6xx (e.g., 12F683) series is very similar, but adds analog input functions. The 12Fxxx's are small and cheap too. The 16F628a was a good learner, but I believe it has been supplanted by a newer 16Fxxx chip, like the 16F88 or 16F87x (not sure on that).

John

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
Hi, Barnaby; welcome to the forum!

I too just got started using some PIC processors. I was fortunate in that a friend from across the country visited last week and he ordered a bunch of PIC stuff for us to play with.