BATTERY PACK DOESN'T CHARGE

GertC

Joined Jun 29, 2024
Good day
I have a Marshall Kilburn Bluetooth speaker box.
It works perfectly when connected to 220vac,
The problem I have is that it doesn't charge the batteries anymore. With my mult-meter I've tested the output on the pins where the battery pack is connected, with battery pack removed, and found no reading at all. I'm supposed to get a reading of approximately 14.8v dc which is the charging voltage for the battery pack.

I've opened the unit and found a small surface-mounted transformer on the PCB. It has 9 pins that are soldered on to the PCB. On the one side there are 5 pins, and on the other side there are 4 pins.
The name and number on the transformer is:
Camden 13030167

Can anyone please give me guidance on which pins are the secondary and which are the primary pins. And which pins are giving the output for charging the battery pack. I have a feeling it might be the problem on the transformer output

I'm not an expert, technician or anything in electronics, but I can surely help myself. It's been a hobby of mine for many years and I was able to fix a lot of things over the years. And I'm always willing to learn.
Thank you

I could find no data on line for that transformer. I doubt whether it is the cause of the problem. The 220V primary will be connected to the terminals that have the highest resistance between them. The secondary will have considerably less resistance. There may be taps on the windings and there may be more than one secondary winding.
A better trouble shooting approach would be to trace the circuit back from the charging output to find out which components are used.

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018