Battery management system

tntero

Joined Dec 5, 2013
Hello there guys, It's been a long time since my last visit here! :p

So, for this time, i was wondering if anyone could give me a few tips on building a battery indicator and charge controller, and by charge controllor, i just mean that it disconnects the batteries from power when they are fully charged and reconnects them when they fall below a set voltage.

This is for a school project in addition to being something my boss asked me to do.

Currently I'm studying using LM3915, an LED bargraph driver to indicate battery status and possibly connect a relay to one of its outputs, probably the last LED so when this LED is powered, the relay would be powered too and disconnect the battery charging cables. when the value falls below, the relay would be unpowered, reconnecting again the charger. Possibly there could be another relay so that it keeps the first relay connected for a while after the battery goes down in voltage, this way, the charger would never be in that point where it connects and disconnects regularly because on a histeresis.

This is still on an early phase of development, so i can accept any tips, suggestions or ideas. Although it is not final, i have the idea nailed down, i just need some help with interfacing and making everything work well together

EDIT: The batteries to use are Sealed Lead-Acid 1.3Ah 12V batteries, 2 in series to make the 24V

Thank you for your answers,
Antero Duarte

Last edited:

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
How you charge a battery and when to stop the charge depends upon the type of battery. A NiMH battery is different from a lead-acid, is different from a Lithium-ion. So what type of battery do you want to charge.

tntero

Joined Dec 5, 2013
How you charge a battery and when to stop the charge depends upon the type of battery. A NiMH battery is different from a lead-acid, is different from a Lithium-ion. So what type of battery do you want to charge.