basic UPS power supply

hotpop.ammu@gmail.com

Joined May 9, 2008
sir,
i'm a +2 student n i need ur help in doin my project work,...
i have selected UPS and the circuit diagram along wid the link is given here.....im in a trouble as i need to modify the circuit to get a regulated supply of 15 V...its given in the site that connectin two 12 V batteris in series and using a 7815 would solve the problem......
but is it enough ???....is dat the only change i hav 2 make in the circuit...???
wat r the major problems dat i may face?....precautions???
plzz help me out as dis is my 1st venture.....

amrutha g kartha .

This circuit can be adapted for other regulated and unregulated voltages by using different regulators and batteries. For a 15 Volt regulated supply use two 12 Volt batteries in series and a 7815 regulator. There is a lot of flexibility in this circuit.
TR1 has a primary matched to the local electrical supply which is 240 Volts in the UK. The secondary winding should be rated at least 12 Volts at 2 amp, but can be higher, for example 15 Volts. FS1 is a slow blow type and protects against short circuits on the output, or indeed a faulty cell in a rechargeable battery. LED 1 will light ONLY when the electricity supply is present, with a power failure the LED will go out and output voltage is maintained by the battery.

http://www.electronics-lab.com/projects/power/002/index.html

blocco a spirale

Joined Jun 18, 2008
The only problem with using a linear regulator such as a 7815 to drop 24V to 15V is that over 40% of the power delivered will be lost as heat which for a battery supplied circuit is probably unacceptable.

Consider replacing the 7815 with a switching regulator which will have an efficiency nearer to 90% and won't produce anything like the same amount of heat.

There are a bewildering array of them here:

http://www.linear.com/pc/viewCategory.jsp?navId=H0,C1,C1003,C1042&gclid=CN7smoWHsZQCFRSA1QodV0KltQ

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007