Basic Question of Op-Amp

Varunblades

Joined Feb 11, 2012
I am quite enthralled by this forum and would like to say that it's doing a fantastic job at it. Notwithstanding that, I must say that I am a noob at the moment and would greatly appreciate you people's help. My questions would seem silly and sometimes ridiculous, but I am trying very hard, sirs and mams..... trust me.....please be patient and help me with my doubts and I will not let you down....!!!

1. In my electronics lab, we were given the operational amplifier

uA 741 CN
K27052

It is a DIP8
What does uA and CN stand for in that name? And what does K27052 stand for?
(If uA stands for micro-ampere, then why so?)

2. This question has bugged me since my very first semester:
If I touch a DC power supply of +10 voltage, both the +ve and -ve wires with my fingers on the breadboard, why don't I feel any current?

ThankYou ...

tubeguy

Joined Nov 3, 2012
1. In my electronics lab, we were given the operational amplifier

uA 741 CN
K27052

It is a DIP8
What does uA and CN stand for in that name? And what does K27052 stand for?
(If uA stands for micro-ampere, then why so?)

2. This question has bugged me since my very first semester:
If I touch a DC power supply of +10 voltage, both the +ve and -ve wires with my fingers on the breadboard, why don't I feel any current?

ThankYou ...
Welcome to the forum!

The ua prefix frequently referred to the particular mfr.

The CN suffix refers to a package type, or a variant of the IC. Google the ua 741 datasheet for examples.

The 2nd number is frequently a date code or mfr code.

Question 2:
First, Don't ever do this with a much higher voltage. ;);)

Try this. Set your DMM to the highest ohm setting and check the resistance of your fingers.
Then, can you figure out why you don't feel much/any current ?

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
The markings on ICs are typically manufacturer and chip type on top line, date code and lot number on second line.