Basic Parallel/Series Question

Phrazemaster

Joined Dec 3, 2010
Hi, I'm creating a small board to support some relays and LEDs in a microphone preamp. I am new at electronics, and at board design, so please bear with me.

I am attaching a file of the board, simplified (some circuitry not essential to this question deleted).

My question is, if I have a 15v input, can I use the power across 4 boards like this, using connectors between the boards (shown)...I have a single power rail, and a single ground, going across. I'm wondering when relays/LEDs engage, if the voltage or current will drop.

My understanding is, voltage will remain constant since the individual components will be connected in parallel with the main + and - rails. This would mean the current would be divided amongst all the boards.

I added a capacitor across the power rails at input to smooth out any power drops when the relays/LEDs are engaged. But will this compensate for lost current due to the topology of the board?

Is there a problem with this design; have I missed something fundamental here? I don't want the LEDs to get dimmer as I turn on more and more switches, and I don't want the relays to fail to engage when more and more switches are turned on, due to a lower current. This design would work fine for 1 board, but what about for 4 boards connected together using the Unimate connectors shown, each to each other? Or do I need to get a new power +15v power supply for each board directly from the power supply itself?

Thank-you for answering such a simple question.

Mike
led-board-question.jpg

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Are you certain that you want to use relays? Relays are electromechanical devices. They're generally pretty good at isolation and in power switching applications, but consume a fair amount of power due to the coil having to be energized, and can be noisy and slow electrically.