Basic concepts PCB building PIC/dsPIC

Electron_23

Joined May 6, 2014
Hello,

I am studying electronics engineering and this year I have been asked to develop a Micromouse/maze solver. For that I will use a dsPIC33E controller, two voltage regulators to 5V and 3V3, a dual motor driver, two magnetic encoders, and some sensors. My question is pretty simple, because my problem is that I have never built a PCB so I do not really know the process. The questions are:
- Do I have to design it in Eagle, make the PCB manufactured without the components, and solder they by myself? Or when you order it to the manufacturer you also give them the components and they solder it?
- For the dsPIC33, what do I have to connect in the schematic apart from the components I mentioned above? I mean, I guess there has to be some pins for programming or communication with the computer when programming, right?

Sorry for these basic questions but I am not familiar at all with this kind of things.

Thank you very much in advance.

-Electron_23.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I would skip the PCB step unless it is required. You can make your own build on a perfboard. You'll do your own soldering, but this is a small price to pay for the time you save not making the PCB. Any problems - and there will be problems - will be much easier to fix.

Electron_23

Joined May 6, 2014
I would skip the PCB step unless it is required. You can make your own build on a perfboard. You'll do your own soldering, but this is a small price to pay for the time you save not making the PCB. Any problems - and there will be problems - will be much easier to fix.
Thank you for your answer. I will have to build the PCB after all, so I will have to deal with it. Do you know if the manufacturer gives you the components soldered, or how does that work?

Thank you again.

sirch2

Joined Jan 21, 2013