Barcode Scanner Question

bpc87

Joined Sep 2, 2012
ok so i have a bunch of cds and i want to catalog them and my buddy thought of scanning the barcodes on all of them and putting them in excel (which i dont know how to do) or does anybody out there know of a free program that supports i plan on using a scanner app and i found two apps that i can email the question so i email it to my self but im lost after that any help would be appreciated im a newbie at this stuff

panic mode

Joined Oct 10, 2011
welcome to the forum and please try to be direct - what is your question?

i have tons of CDs too but they are quietly collecting dust because i don't remember when was the last time I used CD. Once uppon time I ripped them all to MP3s and use computer or USB drive. no scratches, no problems...

if you want to keep data in a excel spreadsheet, well go ahead. most people would probably just use something like windows media player. barcode is just a string. when you scan barcode, your barcode scanner simply spits out string. nothing more, nothing less.

you can enter that string into spreadsheet cell just like any other word (or you may use program that does that for you). if you like to display it as a barcode (perhaps to print it out or use scanner to read it from the computer screen) you need barcode font. one i use is free:
http://www.barcodesinc.com/free-barcode-font/

btw not all scanners can read barcode of the LCD display, only scanners based on imaging sensor work, laser ones will require the barcode to be printed.

bpc87

Joined Sep 2, 2012
I have already ripped all my cds on my computer and i also download cds online. I want to catoagize all the cds i have bought so i can look at that list before i go out to buy cds. I dont believe in buying anything digitally i want an actual cd that i will always have. If my computer crashes there goes all my music a cd you always have. Thats what im trying to do

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009