Bag toss sensory circuit

hermanjc

Joined Nov 13, 2011
I am interested in something fairly similar (and am also fairly novice when it comes to circuitry (mechanical engineer by trade))

I build a few sets of cornhole games every year (just in case you are unaware cornhole is basically adult bean bag toss). I would like to come up with a system where when a player's bag goes through the hole in the board there is a sound clip played.

For example, right now I am building a duck hunt themed set, so I would like a random clip or even just one clip to play every time a bag goes through the score hole. I have a infrared beam trigger in mind, but also I need it to recognize if the beam stays broken, i.e. the bag doesn't actually fall all the way through the hole, but is hanging on top of the board with enough hanging into the hole to break the beam. In this case I don't want the clip to play on loop.

The only other detail I can really think off is that I would hope the whole system to be run off a 9V battery, or maybe 4 AA's (6V).

Any thoughts? I completely understand if this is too much of an effort to ask someone else to make.

elec_mech

Joined Nov 12, 2008
hermanjc,

Infrared would work well. If you're interested in the 7-segment display, I'll need more info about the game, i.e., how scoring works, total number of points possible, etc. 7-segment LED displays do not lend themselves well to battery power as they tend to consume a relatively high amount of current. If you could get away with an LCD 7-segment display, then no problem.

If you just want the sound and no display, battery power will work.