AVR libc

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
I found version 1.6 on the internet. Microchip has a much much better C reference manual compared to Atmel's. I asked an experienced electronic engineer which microcontrollers are the best and he told me that AVR's and PIC's are the most popular with more or less the same performance but AVR's are more 'friendly' to the user. Now i starting to doubt this because Microchip it seems better on the information side. What do you think guys? I am currently using PICs, should i go on with them or start using AVRs or both?

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
I have no experience with PIC so I can only speak to the AVR devices. I have never found any shortcomings in the AVR's performance or the performance of the free tools available to develop programs.

In the end, the only way to find out which one fits your applications best is to familiarize yourself with both and make the decision based on experience with both.

hgmjr

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Yes, sure but as a starting point i see that microchip is better on documentation than atmel. Compare their reference manual to see which one is better, in my opinion this is important because it makes your life easier. Maybe later i will change my mind!

Attachments

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
It sounds like you have had very good experience with PICs. If PIC is getting the job done for you then there is little reason to jump ship to anything else.

Since you are not programming your PIC using Assembly Language, then I don't blame you for staying with the PIC. I program in C as well as Assembly and I have grown very comfortable with the low level programmability of the AVR family of microcontrollers.

hgmjr

AlexR

Joined Jan 16, 2008
The functions and instructions available in any implementation of C for microcontrollers are dependant on the C compiler rather than and the make of device that the compiler is aimed at.