avoiding multiple voltage regulators

prof

Joined Feb 21, 2008
First, I want to mention my limited understanding of all this. I want to make a simple circuit for my car. Currently, my car has a headlamp switch independent of ignition, which can result in battery drain if headlamps are accidentally left lit. I want to add a circuit so that if ignition is off and the headlamps are lit there is a buzzer sound and LCD displaying warning. The buzzer and LCD should go to sleep after 30 seconds of ignition turning off.

As I am dealing with a 12V car battery and my circuit comprise of microcontroller operating at 5V I have a bit of problem where I am adding 3 voltage regulators. In my opinion a much better design is out there which is why I am posting this thread. (I know a microcontroller is an overkill given simple nature of problem, but I am a programmer and I plan to add a gps coupled with the same microcontroller and LCD in the near future).

Attached is the concept that I need improvement on as a jpeg image. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
The voltage regulators connected on the Ignition state and the headlamp swicth state are not necessary. You can replace each regulator with a voltage divider made of two resistors.
But be careful with the ignition state because it might be connected to a relay. If is connected directly with a relay, check if the relay has a parallel diode with it to absorb the back emf of the relay and dont destroy your microcontroler.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007