Automotive and Zener Question

six3amc

Joined May 31, 2008
Hi, This is my first post here. I'm working on rewiring my old car and am stumped when it comes to deciding what Zener diode I need.

I am putting it between the alternator and coil to prevent reverse flow of electricity when the key is switched off. Without this diode the system will stay running.

So I'm dealing with anywhere from 10-14 volts and just need to stop the flow from going backwards. What Zener diode should I get? What would the specs on it be? IE: watts and resistance?

I'm a novice when it comes to this stuff so go easy on me. Thanks for any help you can offer.

-Adam

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Why a zener diode? Power diodes prevent reverse currents, but zeners actually allow it, dropping their rated voltage in the process.

Whilst I know diodes, cars aren't my strong point.

six3amc

Joined May 31, 2008
I'm not sure that a zener diode is required... What other diode would work for only allowing a one way current with the voltage being around 14v max?

With the power diode is there any risk of frying it? The power will try to loop back around in the system, thus keeping my car running when I tell it to stop.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Any power diode, the important rating in this case is current. How many amps do you think it would conduct when it is carring current?

six3amc

Joined May 31, 2008
Though it is low resolution... You can see the diagram here that I am dealing with.. If you look in the upper left corner at the alternator, from the plug #1 goes through a "resistor diode" before going to the coil resistor. I didn't wire in a diode when I first started the car and because of it I had to pull the coil wire to turn it off because the system will keep itself energized with the key off.