Automatic Bike Light (with light sensor and motion sensor)

keabler

Joined Apr 17, 2013
Hi all,

My project idea:
I want to build an automatic bike light that detects when it is dark and when I am moving (so I don't have to turn it on or off).

My Background:
I am in my last semester of physics so I have some experience in building circuits and the general theory behind how many of the electronic components in a circuit work; however, I don't have much experience in designing circuits.

Where I'm at:
I know that I need an accelerometer, photo-diode, LED's, and a battery. What I'm unsure about is how I can design a circuit that will compare the output from the accelerometer and photo-diode to control whether or not the LED is on or off.
- Do I need to use a transistor circuit, or is this more easy to accomplish with a microcontroller?
- How would I design a delay into the circuit (so that the light wouldn't turn off when I'm stopped at a stop light or when a car passes me)?

Thanks everyone and I apologize for my noobness, but building electronic circuits is something I would like to get into. I've even built an audio tube amplifier for my final project in electronics lab, but I didn't design that circuit.

poopscoop

Joined Dec 12, 2012
Omit the accelerometer, use a switch or pressure sensor in the seat instead. Infinitely simpler. Incorporate an RC time constant to control shutdown. This will solve the passing headlights and stand-up problem in one fell swoop.

keabler

Joined Apr 17, 2013
Omit the accelerometer, use a switch or pressure sensor in the seat instead. Infinitely simpler. Incorporate an RC time constant to control shutdown. This will solve the passing headlights and stand-up problem in one fell swoop.