Audio Signal Controlling Electromagnet

jamd

Joined Jan 27, 2014
Hi,
I'm a total newbie, so I have a project where I want to manipulate some ferrofluid with an electromagnet using an audio input (from say an iPhone). My initial thoughts was to have say 3 band passes corresponding to 3 electromagnets so you can see the individual elements of the song (such as bass ext).

I was hoping you guys could point me in the right direction in what to read up on how I can get this project rolling.

Like I said total newbie, had some experience with circuits from A level physics but thats about it!!

Many Thanks!
James

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
You are probably better off with three different filters.

Generally speaking, audio is from 2 Hz to 20 kHz. You have to break it down into three ranges. Use low pass filter for low frequencies. Use bandpass filter to pass middle frequencies. Use high pass filter to pass high frequencies.

So. Find out the voltage of the iPhone output. Find out voltage input of electromagnet. Then you can design the filters.

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
Speakers are really electromagnets.

Driving multiple speakers by frequency is done through a circuit called a speaker cross over.

Another approach is to research color organs. Basically your original idea.

Is this enough information to research? Also, I'd ask myself what field strength you need to drive your ferrofluid.

jamd

Joined Jan 27, 2014
So if I were to do this speaker cross over circuit and then connect the input to an AUX jack and outputs across the electromagnets this would get the desired effect? Id need to create something to amplify the power of the signal as the electromagnet wouldn't generate a magnetic field strong enough to have the desired effect.

Sorry about the questions like I said total newbie! :)

Joined Nov 30, 2010