Audio Oscillator Project - Hp 200c Restoration

Mckayman

Joined Jun 22, 2009
Okay well I just got my hands on a Hp 200c from the dawn of the 50s! My goal is to restore it in to working condition again. So far I have replaced the power cord, fuse and have used a variac to slowly power it back up. All of the tubes are warm when on and the correct heater voltage is being applied from the transformer. (6.3v) I have not been able to use contact cleaner on the switches or controls yet. For a brief period of time I was able to hear it work when hooked to the stereo. It didn't sound too good though so I connected to the oscilloscope and saw the problem. The waves were faint and not fully oscillating. (Maybe a bad output cap?) Sketch is included below. Shortly after though the oscillator stopped producing a signal and hasn't produced one again.

I am still very new to vintage electronics and I think that working with something like this would be a good start to get to know them. If you have any ideas or suggestions to help me out on fixing this I would appreciate it.

Manual --> http://www.hparchive.com/Manuals/HP-200C-Manual-sn-50000.pdf

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
What a prize! We had one in the shop. Nothing like 2 watt resistors and point-to-point wiring.

You should be suspicious of any electrolytic capacitor. I don't think you can find the chassis mount kind any longer, which is really too bad. That Aerovox cap may be a wax type, and may need replacing. They don't age well. The smaller yellow cap up at the top of the chassis is another electrolytic that need checking.

Your waveform clipping on the lower excursion may mean that B+ is a bit low, or that some bias is off. Check/replace the electrolytic caps and then - using a Simpson 260 - check voltages. A glowing heater doesn't mean the tube is working to spec.

Good luck with restoring the oscillator.

Mckayman

Joined Jun 22, 2009