Audio Bands and LEDs

FisherEvans

Joined Oct 30, 2010
Hello,
This is my first post on the forums, and would like to say hello to everyone, and thank you in advance.

Now, onto the situation. I have no "professional" knowledge of electronics (diagram, components, etc). I merely tinker with them as a hobby. I have related small projects, like a simple 2-channel TIP31 led flasher; a Strobe light with variable speed; a portable audio mixer and a portable USB charger. Nothing real fancy. I would like tog et a bit fancier though.

I want to make a 5 band, "light organ." Where an output LED would light up depending on the frequency. For instance...
Audio input, 5 LED strings (not like an equalizer, all light up at presence of the freq. range), each LED string hooked up to light at (for example) Low, Low-Med, Med, Med-High, High Frequencies.

I have done some research. What I have found is that I will probably use Op-Amps to construct this. How ever, out of all my research I CANNOT find any information on Op-amps. I am looking for equations, and diagrams to determine the frequency of the audio and output.

I am going to base this project off of:
http://blog.makezine.com/archive/2010/10/circuit_skills_led_color_organ_spon.html
http://blog.makezine.com/ledColorOrgan-schem_r1.gif

What I am looking for is some explanation as to what is going on here, where I can find further research on this idea, and any advice on how to go about this. (I do not want to copy this given circuit diagram, I want to remake it, while fully understanding what is going on here.)

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
Look at the feedback capacitors on the op amps in the schematic. Note their values for the different frequencies.

The op amps are 3 Active Filters , each biased with input and feedback capacitors to limit response range to specific frequencies. Click link above to wikipedia for more info, they also explain op amps fairly well.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009