Audio Amplifier Problems?

crazyengineer

Joined Dec 29, 2010
Okay, so I started learning about class a amplifier will add a current to the input. So I thought a class A amplifier whould be prefect to deliver the necessary power to drive a speaker.

The speaker is modeled as an 8 ohm resistor and needs at least .5watts of power to work. So I figure I need at least 500ma to be delivered to the 8 ohm resistor. The electret microphone is modeled as a 1mv sine wave. I'm familiar with the fact that there's a lot of distortion in class A amplifiers.

Here's the schematic in OrCad.

Here's the current passing through the 8 ohm resistor plot

Here's the voltage of the 8 ohm resistor plot

What I want to know (other than potential problems with the circuit) is whether or not it will be enough to deliver power to the speaker.

PaulEE

Joined Dec 23, 2011
Okay, so I started learning about class a amplifier will add a current to the input. So I thought a class A amplifier whould be prefect to deliver the necessary power to drive a speaker.

The speaker is modeled as an 8 ohm resistor and needs at least .5watts of power to work. So I figure I need at least 500ma to be delivered to the 8 ohm resistor. The electret microphone is modeled as a 1mv sine wave. I'm familiar with the fact that there's a lot of distortion in class A amplifiers.

Here's the schematic in OrCad.

Here's the current passing through the 8 ohm resistor plot

Here's the voltage of the 8 ohm resistor plot

What I want to know (other than potential problems with the circuit) is whether or not it will be enough to deliver power to the speaker.
Correctly built, Class A amplifiers have the least amount of distortion of any of the amplifier classes. They are also the least efficient. Yanking 500 mA out of a single 2n2222 implies that you're dissipating a watt or more in the transistor itself, which exceeds its maximum power rating.