Audio Amplifier Power Basics

Alicec63

Joined Jun 20, 2013
I am new to audio amplification so forgive my inexperience here... And I may be wayyyy off track... But from looking through datasheets of Audio Amplifiers (looking to use the TPA2012), obviously as the supply voltage decreases, so does the output power capability.

I guess I have 2 questions really. My first is, to amplify an audio signal from an mp3 player/ipod that is connected to a set of 8 ohm speakers, what sort of power output would be necessary to get the output to a 'reasonablly loud' state - i understand that is very vague. But currently the speakers connected are very quiet - so would just like to boost the volume!

Secondly, if the amp is powered via batteries, obviously the voltage of the battery is going to drop when they are 'running out' so will this limit the output power of the amplifier as its supply voltage is dropping? Meaning this would have a direct impact of the maximum volume outputted from the speakers. If so, ideally I wouldnt want the output to get quieter as the batterys are dying?

Hopefully that all makes sense. Any help on this would be great.

Thanks!!!

Joined Nov 30, 2010
This is all just a very typical problem. "My MP3 player can't be heard from 10 feet away. I wish I could hear it well at 15 feet away, and the batteries never get tired".

You need an amplifier, which you have already figured out, and good speakers make a world of difference, but batteries get tired, and that's all there is to it. My personal experience says that good speakers make a world of difference. That's where your money should go. I don't mean pretty pink speakers with unicorns and flowers on the case. I mean good efficiency in decibels per watt. If the speakers don't tell that number, it's because they are miserable speakers that have nothing to brag about.