Audio Amp Help

Casual_Engineer

Joined Jun 13, 2014
Hello there! I've been messing around with an audio amp I brought from Sparkfun. Right now, I'm powering the amp using my 150W power supply (30V and 5A). It works great with one JENSEN JRX235 speaker, but when I add another one, I notice thumping sounds coming from them. At first, I thought it could be power supply capacitance issue, so I added a 2200uF cap in parallel with the 1000uf Capacitor. However, the thumping from the speakers was still prevalent. I even added 470uF in series with each speaker.

I took a couple screen shots to help out. Yellow is the input going into the speaker (which you can see is pretty bad), blue is the voltage on the power supply rail.

Sorry for the question, but I'm new to audio electronics.

Attachments

wakibaki

Joined Jun 12, 2012
Are you sure about this? Either channel is OK on its own with the other channel unloaded, but the symptoms appear when both channels are loaded? Or you only tried it one way round?

Well, you've got a scope. You can inject a signal and follow it through each channel in turn. Start with a small signal and use a resistive dummy load. You can handily output a test signal from a computer using audacity.

w

Lestraveled

Joined May 19, 2014
Does the thumping occur when you are playing music?
Have you tried playing one channel at at time with both speaker connected?
Give us a little more info on how you have things set up.

Mark

Brevor

Joined Apr 9, 2011
The link you supplied to the amp says the maximum supply voltage is 22 Volts. If you are powering it with 30 Volts it may be too much.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

To power the chip with 30 Volts is TOO MUCH.
In the datasheet is given 24 Volts when idle and 22 Volta when in operate.

Bertus

Attachments

studiot

Joined Nov 9, 2007
Happily the module has significant self protection, so what you are hearing is likely the self protection switching the module off and on.