ATX Bench Supply Question

RayInMS

Joined Dec 12, 2012
Hi all -

I'm doing the ATX-to-bench supply conversion, and I have a question about current. Current ratings refer to the capabilities of the supply, not the actual output...correct? Meaning the supply is capable of delivering X amps to a circuit? I'm new to the hobby and have a general grasp of Ohm's Law etc., but I've been working with batteries and am new to bench supplies.

I'm installing 1 amp fuses on all the outputs for some protection, but I'm worried that the supply will send too much juice to the stuff I'm working on (hobby circuits, none requiring more than 500 mA). As I understand it, the components of the circuit determine how much amperage is delivered...and that the power supply will only provide what is needed (e.g., the circuit will only take what it needs, and not all of the available amperage).

Sorry for the dumb question. :D

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
Hi all -

I'm doing the ATX-to-bench supply conversion, and I have a question about current. Current ratings refer to the capabilities of the supply, not the actual output...correct? Meaning the supply is capable of delivering X amps to a circuit? I'm new to the hobby and have a general grasp of Ohm's Law etc., but I've been working with batteries and am new to bench supplies.

I'm installing 1 amp fuses on all the outputs for some protection, but I'm worried that the supply will send too much juice to the stuff I'm working on (hobby circuits, none requiring more than 500 mA). As I understand it, the components of the circuit determine how much amperage is delivered...and that the power supply will only provide what is needed (e.g., the circuit will only take what it needs, and not all of the available amperage).

Sorry for the dumb question. :D