ATMega16 Programming!!

zaman999

Joined Jan 29, 2011
Hi everyone!!
I'm trying to make a line follower circuit using a microcontroller(ATMega16) but since this is the first time i'm using a microcontroller..i need little help with the basics..
I learnt that a microcontroller has to be programmed before using in the circuit by means of a programmer using PC,also i went through diff microcontrollers like PIC,ATMega 16,ATMega 32 etc..
but what i didnt understand is how exactly we program these microcontrollers?? and what is the purpose of a "microcontroller development board"??
I'm totally new to microcontrollers so any help would be appreciated!!

debjit625

Joined Apr 17, 2010
A microcontroller(mcu) executes code,you write this code in an application software (programming language) like assembly,C,Basic...etc.When your code is ready normally your code will be assembled or compiled into a hex file,you burn or download this file into your mcu.

To burn the hex file(your program)into your mcu you will need two stuff.1) An application software ,its not the application software where you wrote your mcu's program and 2) A programmer,its a hardware like printer,mouse.etc which you connect to PC and insert your mcu which to be programmed.You load your hex file into the application software then you connect your programmer to PC and insert your mcu into the programmer and burn the hex file.

Now a development board is where your test the mcu i.e.. after programming does it works properly or not,a development board will have all sort of external modules that could be attached with the mcu,like LEDs,LCD,Switch and etc.

Good Luck

zaman999

Joined Jan 29, 2011
Thanks a lot..that was helpful..
Which mcu would u suggest a beginner to start with-the PIC or which of atmega series??

debjit625

Joined Apr 17, 2010