Assembly Problem

maple23

Joined Apr 23, 2008
I have been working with assembly (TASM32) for a few months now and have ran into a problem which I cannot fix. Here's a working example written in C++ which needs to be converted to assembly.
Rich (BB code):
#include <windows.h>

int    main(){
    char    *name_list[5] = {"Micheal", "Stefan", "Judy", "William", "Lora"};
    for(int i = 0; i < 5; i++){
        MessageBox(0, name_list, name_list, 0);
    }
    return 0;
}
Here's the assembly version I've written. It goes through the five names fine, after the names, it brings up a message box with random characters.
Rich (BB code):
.model flat

EXTRN    MessageBoxA : PROC
EXTRN    ExitProcess : PROC

.DATA
    dd ?            ; TASM gayness

.CODE
MAIN:
    pushad
    call    lblNames
        db "Micheal", 0
        db "Stefan", 0
        db "Judy", 0
        db "William", 0
        db "Lora", 0

lblNames:
    pop    esi        ; esi = current name
    push    5        ; 5 names
    pop    ecx        ; ecx = counter

lblNameLoop:
    push    0
    push    esi
    push    esi
    push    0
    call    MessageBoxA

lblNextChar:
    lodsb
    test    al, al
    jnz    lblNextChar

pop    ecx
    loop    lblNameLoop

popad

push    0
    call    ExitProcess
END    MAIN
Does anyone know what the problem is, or have any suggestions for me? This seems much more complicated than it should be...

Sorry for my English.

Thank you,
Stefan Kendrick

Mark44

Joined Nov 26, 2007
Stefan,
What problems are you having with the code you show? Does it assemble without error? Can you link it without error?

If you can get the code to assemble and link, your best friend is the debugger, probably called TDEBUG32. I haven't used the Borland product since their version 3.1 I think it was, but they worked well for me.

Anyway, until I hear more from you, here are some things to think about...