Asking for help on an electromagnet project...

germanninja

Joined Nov 26, 2009
I am trying to construct an electromagnet in a grid-type formation...1. What should I use to connect the "breaks" in the iron core? Should I keep it ferrous or can I use copper wire? and 2. I plan to use a disposable camera with the capacitor replaced by the leads to the electromagnet for the power source, how can I keep the wire from burning out since I am using the smallest gauge enameled wire possible to ensure maximum potential.
I am still new to electronics and I am still learning so please no harassment.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Hello germanninja, and welcome to AAC.
I am trying to construct an electromagnet in a grid-type formation...
OK, could you please elaborate on that? Make a sketch and post it? .png type images are preferred; they are small in size and load very quickly with no special software.

1. What should I use to connect the "breaks" in the iron core? Should I keep it ferrous or can I use copper wire?
It is unclear what you mean.
Are you going to attempt to build this from many individual pieces?
Could you post an image of some of the breaks or pieces that you are talking about?

2. I plan to use a disposable camera with the capacitor replaced by the leads to the electromagnet for the power source, how can I keep the wire from burning out since I am using the smallest gauge enameled wire possible to ensure maximum potential.
Well, a disposable camera's electronics basically uses a small flyback-type power supply to charge up the flash capacitor to around 300v over a number of seconds. It really wouldn't be suitable to power an electromagnet.

I'm not an expert in electromagnetic design by any stretch of the imagination. Electromagnets and solenoids are fairly similar, but rather specialized.

It would help a great deal to know more about what your intended application is.
I am still new to electronics and I am still learning so please no harassment.