As newbie as a noob can be,HELP!!!

ddsdavey

Joined Oct 27, 2010
Hi guys,someone recommended it here so thought id join.I am extremely new to all this although ive been fixing consoles etc for years so thought id tread a bit dseeper.
Ok so i have a project lined up but its the simplest things that get me!
Ok first,im using USB mini B smd and i have protoboard for the final job.The pins on the usb plugrun 2 with the other 3 below.It dosnt correspond to the holes on the protoboard,also i have a pic 18f2550 28 pin jobbie,again the legs are narrower than other,longer more "typical" pic chips that you see around.With my PG2 it fits but seems like its 2 legs for every connection when plugged into it? So obviously again i dont understand how these are meant to fit the generic holes on standad protoboard.
I know youll probably all giggle but ive googled and googled but cannot find a single bit of help on these specics.I understand schematics,i understand the theories etc its just these silly things from not having experience.Could someone help me out dya think.
Thanks guys.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
It sounds like you are trying to use Surface Mount (SMD) IC's on a DIP Protoboard?

Can you take a clear picture and post it as an attachement? 3+ Megapixel without flash bounce would be preferred.

ddsdavey

Joined Oct 27, 2010
So i need a dip pinout for protoboards?
Sorry guys i really,really am a complete beginner which im sure is obvious but i do find this area fascinating,perhaps im not clever enough lol!
So is it that,depending on the canvas (so-to-speak ie board/pcb etc),that the same part will be available for the different "canvas" available ie SOIC or DIP and that i just ordered the wrong parts for my protoboard or am i just getting even more confused?!
Ive attached everything mentioned,best photo i could get with what i have im afraid.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
So i need a dip pinout for protoboards?