arm/disarm switch, and timed pulse

kballing

Joined Jun 18, 2007
Hello,
This is a first time post.

I am redesigning a medical device as an undergraduate engineering student. My major is not, however, electrical engineering. I have a general idea of what I am doing because I am more or less copying an existing device. I have a basic knowledge of circuits.

I am trying to do two things:

1) First is at the push of a button, I need to translate that short signal into a 5V pulse of an adjustable duration, 100ms - 1000ms. For example, I push a button and it turns on a light that continues to stay on for half a second and then turns off. The existing device uses the part motorolla SN74LS123N. I guess it is a chip for controlling cell phone vibrators. Anyway, I think I understand more or less what is going on here, I would just like to know if there is a more generic way of producing the same result or where I can look for more information on this type of circuit.

2) The other thing is an arm/disarm button. What this needs to be is a button with an LED backlight, when pressed, it turns the light on and gives functionality to a fire button. Once I fire the device once, the system becomes disarmed. While disarmed I can press the fire button repetedly with no effect until I arm the system. I press the arm button and it allows the fire button to work just once. Parts in the existing device are TI SN74LS08N, 2 input positive AND gates, and TI SN74LS74AN, Type D flip flop. I really don't know how these work and just want more information.

The device is a pneumatic surgical inserter just to let you know the application.

Any info on how this all works and how I can reproduce it is appreciated.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004