Arduino Controller ?

Assalind001

Joined Jun 24, 2024
I'm new to Arduino and need some advice.
I have a small machine with 2 pneumatic cylinders, 1 stepper motor, 4 limit switches on the cylinders, a Door switch, and a couple of push buttons (start, stop etc).
Anyone got a recommendation for an Arduino controller?

Assalind001

Joined Jun 24, 2024
I need to index a stepper, drive a couple of air cylinders IN & OUT. A Push button to START and push button to STOP if it all goes wrong. :)
Guess I'm asking would an Arduino controller do the job

The Arduino UNO R3 is a good choice for this kind of project. The main issue is often the number of I/O lines you need, so the first step is to count them!

I’m counting 2 x 2 = 4 for the valves for the pneumatic cylinders, 4 for the limit switches, 4 for the stepper motor, 1 for the door switch and 2 for the push buttons. That’s a total of 15. The UNO has 13 digital I/O lines but don’t use 0 and 1 as they are used to talk to the computer, and 6 analogue lines which can also be used for digital. So you have sufficient I/O.

The maximum current output of each pin is 20mA so you will need transistors to drive the pneumatic valves. The push buttons, limit switches and door switch can simply ground a pin which has pinMode set as input with pull-up. Use an H bridge IC for the stepper, or a ready made module.

If you are new to the Arduino I recommend trying some of the examples first. Then write code to turn on an LED when a button is pressed - in other words do individual stand alone tasks to verify they work and as you build the whole system only make one change at a time, testing every step before moving on.

LesJones

Joined Jan 8, 2017
Your sequence table in post #5 does not give any timing information between events.