Arduino-Controlled EQ for a Tube Guitar Amp

visorakmark

Joined Jul 11, 2013
Hey guys! First post here. Hopefully this is the right place.

I am studying electrical engineering and am building a guitar amp for a summer project class. I have decided to buy this kit. http://www.ax84.com/p1.html

My professor and I want to modify this amp, specifically the tone stack. We'd like to replace the current tone stage with an arduino controlled filter.

So, thinking theoretically. We could build a simple RC flter and replace the resistor with some voltage controlled arduino resistance. My professor has recommend I look into FET's. Considering FET's are voltage sensitive devices, it might be able to accomplish what I want.

I've never done anything like this...so, I guess I am asking for some help! Where should I start? I plan to design and test the circuit on a breadboard with a function generator. Just gotta design something...

Link to the ax84 P1 schematic: http://www.ax84.com/static/p1/AX84_P1_101004.pdf

poopscoop

Joined Dec 12, 2012
Not sure how you're going to get arduino to control this. While a FET is voltage controlled, arduino only does LOW/HIGH for output. With only one pin, your option is to turn the filter on or off. You can get creative on what the definition of on/off is, IE one of 2 various resistance values, but without incorporating additional output pins into the design you're limited to two options.

I would suggest using multiple pins (I think there are 14 digital pins on Arduino), each connected to a FET or transistor which then controls one of several parallel resistors in the RC circuit. This will allow you to combine resistors, giving you several dozen unique values when you vary between multiple resistors in parallel, single, no resistor, etc.

I'd suggest looking into an IC transistor array to save space and trouble.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010