Arduino and the PING Ultrasonic Sensor - Question

krow

Joined May 25, 2010
Hey guys,

I was reading the code the Arduino uses to turn on the Ultrasonic Sensor and I see it's pretty straightforward, I was curious about something I noticed, I'm not an expert in this field, worth mentioning.

We all know the PING sensor is basically a transceiver (receiver and transmitter) so, I read that the Arduino sets one of its pins to HIGH and then, a few microseconds later it is switched as an input so that it picks up that signal after bouncing off the object, nothing extraordinary so far.

I was wondering, if I use a mic and a speaker instead of the sensor wouldn't it work the same way? I send a tone through the speaker and then I set the mic as an input which will pick up that signal after bouncing off the object like in the first case. Would that work?

With this "experiment" that I'm sure so many people have already done I would like to find a way to, for example, measure the dBs of that incoming signal which will help me find out how much absorption that object offers, something like that. Has anybody tried this before? Is there any way I can measure dBs with the Arduino and this sensor?

I'd love to hear from you and thanks for reading.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
Lower audio frequencies are very non-directional.

This is noticeable with human hearing, where you can't immediately locate the direction of bass, such as a big boom, without higher harmonics.

Electronics are more fussy than a human ear, so for reliable detection, the audio must be in a "beam" (actually, a very narrow cone shape, about 10 degrees), which can only be achieved with shorter wavelengths (>15kHz-ish).

Your project will work, but only to the extent that an awareness of "something" is nearby, but not the precise direction, probably about 100 degrees or so depending on speaker and microphone. Think of the small echo when you talk in a bathroom, for example.