Architecture Model Dilemma..

Connorp

Joined Sep 19, 2013
Hi,

I'm building an architectural model for one of my final year projects at uni, and i'm having trouble designing the operating circuit for it.

The model is of what is commonly known as 'The Sliding House' by drMM architects (give it a google and you'll see what I mean about the motor) and it is in 1:40 scale, which puts it at about 80cm unextended.

I'm a complete novice in electronics, although I'm having basic lessons from one of the pro Modelmakers at the company I'm doing work experience in, so I have a (very) basic grasp of it as of yet.

I'll explain what I'm trying to do first and hopefully one of you would be kind enough to teach me how such a system would operate if you could?

Ok, so I need to plug the model into the mains, just so you know where my power is coming from initially. (I know about fusing and transformers to convert so I'm ok up the the converted side of the transformer)

Ideally, due to aesthetics and ease of demonstration, I'd like to use a 3 position rocker switch (on-off-on) to control the direction of the motor. Unless there are any better suggestions of low visual impact switches that would suit better? Also, i'd like the switch to only have to be depressed for a second (not held down) but the model to move until it reaches either end of the rack.

I need to run a DC motor with low RPM to control a rack and pinion system, the rack being attached to the bottom surface of the outer part of the house, and the pinion being attached to the shaft of the motor to drive it.

I need to reverse the polarity of the motor when the switch is presses from either left or right to move the model left or right (sorry if this is obvious, just trying to include as much info as possible.